Class 8 Civics Chapter 2 The Indian Parliament System Answers

Maharashtra Board Class 8 Civics Solutions Chapter 2 The Indian Parliament

Balbharti Maharashtra State Board Class 8 Civics Solutions Chapter 2 The Indian Parliament Notes

Textbook Exercise Important Questions and Answers

Maharashtra State Board Class 8 Civics Solutions Chapter 2 The Indian Parliament

Class 8 Civics Chapter 2 The Indian Parliament System Textbook Questions and Answers


1. Complete the following sentences by choosing the correct option. (1) Candidates to the Lok Sabha are elected through ………. .

(a) Territorial constituencies

(b) Religious constituencies.

(c) Local bodies

(d) Proportional Representation System

(a) Territorial constituencies

(2) India’s …………. is the ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

(a) President (b) Vice-President (c) Prime Minister (d) Chief Justice

(b) Vice-President

2. Find and write.

(1) Members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha are known as ………………. Answer:
Members of Parliament (MPs)

(2) The responsibility of making laws is with …………….


3. Explain following statements with reasons.

(1) Rajya Sabha is a permanent House.

Answer: 1/3rd members of total membership of Rajya Sabha who have completed their tenure of six years retire after every two years and equal number of new members get elected. Because the limited members of Rajya Sabha retire step by step, Rajya Sabha can function continuously. Rajya Sabha is never dissolved completely hence it is called a permanent House.

(2) Lok Sabha is known as the first House.

Answer: Lok Sabha is the House of Representatives directly elected by the people. Hence, the Lok Sabha is called the ‘First’ house.

4. Answer the following in 25 to 30 words.

(1) How are members of the Lok Sabha elected?

The members of Lok Sabha are elected directly by people from the ‘territorial constituencies’. The tenure of Lok Sabha is five years. The elections take place after every five years. These elections are known as General Elections.

(2) Explain the functions of the Speaker of Lok Sabha.

Answer: After getting elected as Speaker, he/she has to conduct the business of the House in an unbiased manner. Lok Sabha members have some rights and privileges as the representatives of the people. These are taken care of by the Speaker. Apart from this, the Speaker has to maintain the decorum and dignity of the house as well as interpret the rules of daily functioning of the house and work accordingly.

5. Explain the steps involved in the lawmaking process.

Answer: A rough draft of the law is prepared initially. This draft or outline is known as draft proposal of the law or Bill of law. In order to be converted into an Act (Law), the Bill undergoes following process.

First reading : The minister of the concerned department/ministry or member of the parliament presents the bill and briefly explains its structure while presenting it. This is called as ‘first reading’.

Second reading : There are two stages of second reading. In the first stage, the objectives of the proposed Bill are discussed and members in the house express their opinions on it. After the discussion within the house, as per the requirement, the bill is sent to a committee of the House. Now, the second phase of the second reading begins. In this phase, the bill is discussed clause by clause. Members can suggest changes. After this, voting is taken in the house.

Third Reading : The bill is discussed briefly again during the third reading. Voting is taken for approving the Bill. If the bill gets an assent by the required majority, then the bill is considered as passed by the House. The bill undergoes the same procedure even in the other house. After getting an approval by both the houses, the bill is further sent for assent by the President. If there occurs a difference of opinion between Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha over a specific bill, the future of this bill is decided in a joint meeting of both the houses. After the final assent and signature of the President, the bill is converted into the law and the law is made.


The President nominates 12 members to the Rajya Sabha. Collect information on what are the criteria for their selection.

Can you find out ?

The constituent States in India get seats on basis of their population. For the purpose of elections, the State is divided into territorial constituencies. The population of these territorial constituencies is approximately equal.

Use the Internet to find out the number of seats each constituent State has in the Lok Sabha.

For example,

Maharashtra: 48 seats

Gujarat: 26 seats

Madhya Pradesh: 29 seats

Goa: 2 seats